Rady School 10th Anniversary Media Kit

Rady School Fast Facts

Download Rady School At-A-Glance PDF
Download Rady School Milestones PDF
Download the Rady School Infographic PDF

  • Approved by the UC Regents in 2001, a business school is founded at UC San Diego in 2003.
  • Robert and Malin Burnham, Joan and Irwin Jacobs and Carol and William Stensrud made founding gifts to the school in 2003.
  • In 2003, Robert S. Sullivan is named the school’s founding dean.
  • The Rady School’s Center for Executive Development begins its first non-degree programs in 2003.
  • The school is named “The Rady School of Management” in 2004 in recognition of the generous support by Ernest and Evelyn Rady.
  • The Rady School’s first class of MBA students begins the FlexWeekend program in 2004.
  • With the matriculation of the first class in 2004, the Rady School launched its capstone curriculum, the Lab to Market core course sequence.
  • The Beyster Institute joined the Rady School in 2004. The Beyster Institute was founded by SAIC’s Robert Beyster and his wife Betty.
  • The Rady School’s first Full-Time MBA class began in 2005 and the first FlexEvening MBA class began in 2007.
  • The first FlexWeekend MBA class graduated from the Rady School in 2006.
  • In 2007, the Rady School moved from its temporary home on the UC San Diego campus to its permanent facility, Otterson Hall, named for William Otterson.
  • The Rady School’s Ph.D. program began in 2009, attracting top doctoral candidates from around the globe.
  • In 2009, the Rady School began offering an accounting minor, which quickly became the most popular undergraduate minor on the UC San Diego campus. An undergraduate business minor began in 2011 and became the second most popular minor on campus.
  • The Rady School earned accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International) in 2011. AACSB International is the premier business education accrediting body, with less than 5 percent of business schools worldwide achieving accreditation.
  • In 2012, the Rady School opened its 81,000 square foot expansion, Wells Fargo Hall. The new, state-of-the-art structure features the 295-seat J.R. Beyster Auditorium, Ernest and Evelyn Rady Sky Pavilion, the Atkinson Behavioral Research Laboratory, the MBA Vision Student Commons lounge and conference rooms provided by the generous support of Jan Tuttleman, Craig Lambert, Arthur Brody and Tony Thornley.
  • In 2013, the Rady School celebrates its 10th Anniversary.
  • By 2013, the Rady School has added over 50 emerging growth companies to the local innovation ecosystem.

Rady School Images

Click a thumbnails below for a high-resolution image